Home > About us > Countries > South Africa

South Africa


Research locations

The Dr Kenneth Kaunda District (DKK) in the North West Province was chosen as the study site by the Department of Health as it is one of three districts where the integrated chronic disease management (ICDM) is being piloted in the country, and is a pilot site for national health insurance and the re-engineering of primary heathcare. DKK is in the southern part of the North West Province, which is located immediately west of the populous Gauteng province. DKK comprises four subdistricts, with a population of approximately 796 823, the majority of whom (90%) are urban.

The main economic activities are mining and agriculture. Public health facilities include regional hospitals, primary healthcare facilities and one specialist in-patient mental health facility. Private healthcare facilities are also available but were not the focus of study given the emphasis on integrating mental health into the public service ICDM service delivery platform. 

For more information, read Integrating mental health into chronic care in South Africa: the development of a district mental healthcare plan in a special supplement on PRIME published in the British Journal of Psychiatry. 

Research team

Prof Inge Petersen
Principal Investigator
University of Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa 
Email: peterseni[at]ukzn.ac.za
Prof Arvin Bhana
University of Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa
Email: arvin.bhana[at]gmail.com
Dr Lara Fairall
University of Cape Town, South Africa
Email: lara.fairall[at]uct.ac.za
Tasneem Kathree
Project Coordinator
University of Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa
Email: kathree[at]ukzn.ac.za
One Selohilwe
Project Coordinator
University of Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa
Email: selohilwe[at]ukzn.ac.za